Asking around a holiday or birthday might improve your chances of getting the iPad. Let your parents know that you want to talk about something that’s important to you.

Talk to your parents about the educational and how-to apps you can download to help you in school or to learn new things. You can say something like, “I can use the math apps on the iPad to help me get better at algebra. ” Explain the technology skills you will learn if you have an iPad that will stick with you in life as technology continues to grow. Mention the access you will have to thousands of books on an iPad and how that will get you reading more. [6] X Research source Bring up the locations services on iPads. In an example, “You won’t have to worry about me getting lost because you can use the iPad location services to find me. ”

Remind them how thankful you are for everything they have given you before you ask. Say something like: “Dad, I know you work hard for everything that you have given me and I want you to know I am very thankful for that. I know it is a lot to ask, but I was wondering if I can have an iPad. ”[7] X Research source

In example, “Mom, I really want an iPad, but I don’t have enough money. If I pay for part of it with my leftover birthday money and do extra chores around the house, can you buy it for me?”[8] X Research source

Tell your parents to think about it and then give them space to decide. Say something like, “Mom, you don’t have to answer right away. Take time to think about it. ”[9] X Research source

In a calm manner say something like, “Okay. That is completely fine. What is the reason you don’t want me to have an iPad?” Do what they want you to do before you ask again. In an example, if they say you need to get better grades first, then work on your grades and ask them again when your grades improve. [10] X Research source Try to listen to their response with and open mind (and without getting defensive).